stock image wind turbines

Our Team

The highly regarded EPICenter leadership team are passionate about energy and helping Georgia Tech lead the Southeast to a resilient and reliable energy future.

Laura Taylor
Director, EPICenter
Chair, School of Economics
ltaylor75@gatech.edu

Tim Lieuwen
Executive Director, Strategic Energy Institute
Chair, School of Aerospace Engineering
tim.lieuwen@aerospace.gatech.edu

Richard Simmons
Director of Research & Studies, EPICenter
richard.simmons@me.gatech.edu

Christine Conwell Headshot

Christine Conwell
Director of Planning & Operations, Strategic Energy Institute
christine.conwell@energy.gatech.edu

Trisha Sisk
Director of Activities & Engagement, Strategic Energy Institute
trisha.sisk@gatech.edu

Christine Powell
Program Support Coordinator, EPICenter
christine.powell@energy.gatech.edu

Priya Devarajan
Research Communications Program Manager, Strategic Energy Institute
priya.devarajan@research.gatech.edu

External Fellows

External Fellows are energy industry experts who work closely with EPICenter to ensure that EPICenter stays abreast of current industry trends and issues.

Scott McWhorter
Distinguished External Fellow
cmcwhorter7@gatech.edu

Andrea Pinabell
Distinguished External Fellow
apinabell6@gatech.edu

Initiative Leads

Initiate Leads are Georgia Tech faculty who lead campus efforts to promote multi-disciplinary research across campus and nurture industry and non-profit partnerships within their respective domains.

Joe F. Bozeman III
Assistant Professor, School of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Health Equity & Energy Transitions Lead

Research Interests: Socio-demographic impacts of the food-energy-water nexus; equity in energy and environmental systems; urban carbon management systems.

Jenny Hirsch Headshot

Jennifer Hirsch
Senior Director, SCoRE
Sustainable Communities Lead

Research Interests: Equity and sustainable built environments; grassroots sustainability innovation; community leadership in energy equity.

Debra Lam Headshot

Debra Lam
Principal Researcher, Managing Director, Smart Cities and Inclusive Innovation
Smart Cities and Inclusive Communities Lead

Research Interests: Inclusive Innovation; Smart cities; Urban Innovation.

Dan Molzahn Headshot

Dan Molzahn
Assistant Professor, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Energy Club Lead

Research Interests: Power systems optimization; Non-linearities resulting from power flow equations; uncertainties related to renewable energy generation.

Faculty Affiliates

Faculty Affiliates are an informal advisory committee that helps advise EPICenter and who also work to connect Georgia Tech energy researchers across campus to policy and decision-makers throughout the Southeast.

Focus Area: Economics & Policy

Omar Asessio Headshot

Omar Asensio
Associate Professor, School of Public Policy
asensio@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

Research Interests: Energy efficiency, markets, and policy; Market-based incentives; Smart grid and transportation; Sustainability policy.

Dylan Brewer
Assistant Professor, School of Economics
brewer@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Energy economics; Environmental economics; Industrial organization.

Marilyn Brown
Regents’ Professor, Brook Byers Professor of Sustainable Systems, School of Public Policy
marilyn.brown@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

Research Interests: Clean energy policy; Energy markets and efficiency; Regulations and standards; Financing and subsidies; Climate change mitigation and adaptation.

Gaurav Doshi
Assistant Professor, School of Economics
gdoshi@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Energy Economics; Environmental economics; Industrial organization – firms responses to energy policy changes in energy markets.

Tony Harding
Assistant Professor, School of Economics
aharding6@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Energy and environmental economics; Intersections between energy policy and economics.

Bobby Harris
Assistant Professor, School of Economics
bobby.harris@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Public economics; Climate policy and the energy transition; Applied microeconomics.

Daniel Matisoff
Professor, School of Public Policy
matisoff@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Policy impacts on energy innovation and diffusion, and market-based incentives; Voluntary programs; Energy, climate, and environmental policy.

Matthew OIiver
Associate Professor, School of Economics
matthew.oliver@econ.gatech.edu

Research Interests: International development; Energy infrastructure; Energy and environment.

Casey Wichman
Associate Professor, School of Economics
wichman@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Applied econometrics; Environmental economics; Public economics.

Focus Area: Engineering

Joe F. Bozeman III
Assistant Professor, School of Civil & Environmental Engineering
joe.bozeman@ce.gatech.edu

Research Interests: Socio-demographic impacts of the food-energy-water nexus; equity in energy and environmental systems; urban carbon management systems.

Constance Crozier Headshot

Constance Crozier
Assistant Professor, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering
constance.crozier@isye.gatech.edu

Research Interests: Electric Vehicles; Power systems and electric vehicles; Control and operation of decarbonized power systems.

Dan Molzahn Headshot

Dan Molzahn
Assistant Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
molzahn@gatech.edu

Research Interests: Power systems optimization; Non-linearities resulting from power flow equations; uncertainties related to renewable energy generation.

Valeris Thomas Headshot

Valerie Thomas
Anderson-Interface Chair of Natural Systems, Professor, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering
valerie.thomas@isye.gatech.edu

Research Interests: Energy and materials efficiency; sustainability; industrial ecology; international security; carbon capture; electricity system development; building construction.